Documentary credits

Documentary credits

With documentary credits, the BCGE offers you a payment and credit instrument which is recognised worldwide, with a view to minimising risks in the international trade of goods and services.

The seller receives a bank instrument which specifies the undertaking given by the issuing or confirming bank
The buyer makes payment solely against presentation of compliant documents indicating that the goods have been shipped

The essentials

Documentary credits: definition

A documentary credit, or letter of credit, is a by-product of international trade. It is used to reduce import and export related risks. It is most often found in long-distance sales transactions. This is why reference is usually made to a sales contract. The documentary credit serves to guarantee payment for the provision of services resulting from this basic contractual relationship.
First and foremost, a letter of credit is a payment instrument which has become virtually essential in trade operations. In practice, the buyer discharges its duty to pay for the goods ordered by means of a letter of credit instead of paying the purchase price directly. By accepting the inclusion of a letter of credit clause in the sales contract, the buyer undertakes to authorise a bank to issue a documentary credit, and to pay the sale price to the beneficiary (seller) against presentation of compliant documents.



Further information

Conditions

Handling letters of credit is subject to the uniform rules and practices published by the International Chamber of Commerce in Paris. These rules are regularly revised so as to comply with commercial practice.
A letter of credit is quite a costly instrument. It is not recommended for small-scale operations.
Contact us Contact form

Dokumentar-Akkreditive

Dokumentar-Akkreditive

Mit dem Dokumentar-Akkreditiv bietet Ihnen die BCGE ein weltweit anerkanntes Zahlungs- und Kreditinstrument zur Minimierung von Risiken im internationalen Waren- und Dienstleistungsverkehr.

Der Verkäufer erhält ein Bankinstrument, in dem die Verpflichtung der eröffnenden oder bestätigenden Bank klar festgehalten ist.
Der Käufer bezahlt nur gegen Vorlage entsprechender Dokumente, die den Versand der Ware belegen.

Das Wesentliche

Definition

Das Dokumentar-Akkreditiv, oder einfach nur Akkreditiv, wurde für den internationalen Handel geschaffen. Es wird zur Verringerung von import- und exportbedingten Risiken verwendet. Meistens kommt es bei Verkäufen ins Ausland zum Einsatz. Deshalb wird in der Regel auch auf einen Kaufvertrag Bezug genommen. Das Akkreditiv stellt die Bezahlung der aus dem Vertragsverhältnis resultierenden Leistung sicher.
Es ist vor allem ein Zahlungsinstrument und ist für den Warenverkehr inzwischen nahezu unentbehrlich geworden. Der Käufer kommt seiner Zahlungspflicht für die bestellte Ware mithilfe des Akkreditivs und nicht durch direkte Zahlung des Kaufpreises nach. Ist der Käufer damit einverstanden, eine Akkreditivklausel in den Kaufvertrag aufzunehmen, verpflichtet er sich dazu, eine Bank mit der Eröffnung eines Akkreditivs zu beauftragen und dem Begünstigten (Verkäufer) den Verkaufspreis gegen Vorlage der entsprechenden Dokumente zu bezahlen.



Weitere Informationen

Konditionen

Für die Bearbeitung des Akkreditivs gelten die einheitlichen Richtlinien und Gebräuche für Dokumentenakkreditive der Internationalen Handelskammer in Paris. Diese Regeln werden regelmässig überprüft, um sicherzustellen, dass sie weiterhin im Einklang mit den Geschäftspraktiken stehen.
Ein Akkreditiv ist relativ teuer und wird deshalb für kleinere Transaktionen nicht empfohlen.

Eine Frage? Kontaktieren Sie uns