Responsible performance

Banking services that meet the highest ethical and environmental criteria.

Guidelines for action


Framework for action


 

BCGE is committed to its stakeholders:

The shareholders
BCGE is committed to its shareholders by motivating them with strong results, a well-balanced dividend policy and a listing on the capital market which constitutes a guarantee of transparency and imposes a very demanding code of conduct.
 

The clients
BCGE is committed over the long term to its clients and their family circle by respecting their interests, providing them with high quality advice and transparent communication.
 

The team
BCGE is committed to its employees with loyalty and respect by supporting their personal development and treating them without discrimination.
 

The community
BCGE is committed to contributing to the development of the economy by distributing its services in an equitable way, supporting socially responsible activities, creating added value for public authorities and exercising its legal mission of contributing to the development of the economy. In the field of financing and investment, it is careful not to support projects that are contrary to its principles of social responsibility.



A range of strategic banking services for individuals*


Day-to-day banking

Netbanking
BCGE's online banking solution makes an active contribution to protecting the environment by reducing the amount of paper used and the number of postal items sent.
Avantage service
Avantage service is a loyalty programme that consumes no paper, does not offer cumbersome gadgets as rewards but rather offers an additional interest bonus on savings, with no environmental impact. The range of day-to-day banking services provided by BCGE is available online and in branches in a completely digital form. This facility is intended to ensure sustainability and to maintain a very high level of quality.

Financing

The mortgage loan intended for private individuals can also be used to finance investments that meet the requirements of the “Minergie“ label. This “green“ option makes it possible to optimise comfort while respecting the environment and obtaining a preferential rate. The “Minergie“ home loan enables you to acquire, build or renovate a property while reducing your energy costs.

The sustainable renovation project loan enables homeowners to finance sustainable renovation work at a preferential rate of 3.90%.

A preferential rate is available for financing electric or low fuel consumption vehicles. This preferential rate is applicable to models that figure on the list of low-pollution vehicles compiled by the canton.

Pension Planning


This fund invests only in assets (equities, bonds and investment funds) that are generally recognised as sustainable or socially responsible. These similar terms refer to a management approach that does not focus solely on economic performance, but also on respect for the environment and human and ethical values.

Investments

Best of
The Best of ESG mandate is built on the same principles as its predecessors and allows clients to benefit from almost 20 years of proven experience starting at CHF 50,000.  This new management mandate, which is compatible with the requirements of sustainable finance, is available in CHF in 4 investment profiles, depending on the risk profile of each investor: defensive, balanced, dynamic or world equity. The asset allocation corresponds to that of the Best of classics.

Best of
The focus is on generating capital gains, while at the same time investing a portion in bonds and real estate. Investments are made primarily in Swiss assets that are considered sustainable.

These funds invest for the long term in approximately 30 Swiss secondary securities (listed companies outside the SMI) selected on the basis of sustainable criteria. To be selected, companies must have financial, social and environmental qualities that are both globally balanced and individually above average.

This fund invests in federal bonds for at least two thirds of its value. The balance may be invested in bonds or other debt securities issued or guaranteed by a Swiss public-sector entity or by a central mortgage bond institution.
Tranding online 1816
The 1816 platform allows you to manage your investments independently on the stock exchange. Integrated into Netbanking and BCGE Mobile Netbanking, 1816 is paperless, simple, practical and competitive.

Code of conduct

The internal "Responsible Performance" label is reserved for services that meet a number of selective criteria. Our selection principles are as follows:

  1. It is not the technocracy but the investor who decides on his selection criteria for sustainable investments
    Choices must be made in the face of the multitude of restrictions and requirements that can be applied to a company. These choices are primarily made by investors and do not have to be taken up by well-meaning private or public think tanks. For example, the carbon-wind-power-nuclear controversy divides many investors. Each investor will articulate his or her vision and it is his or her preferences that will shape the portfolio. It is then up to the manager to look for selection and filtering solutions.
  2. ESG filtering must lead to better long-term financial performance
    The applications of the ESG approach are very diverse. Therefore, the different issues need to be identified and priorities set, with the main focus on improving the performance of the portfolio. This often leads to tricky situations in which a decision has to be made. For example, what about impact investing, which is an effective investment that serves a good cause but then leads to a deterioration in the performance of a pension fund? In our opinion, a case like this goes beyond the scope of ESG and approaches philanthropy, which is a completely different approach (gratuitous, anonymous). In addition, “countless academic studies investigating the relationship between corporate social responsibility and share performance have come to contradictory conclusions on the subject“3. In the absence of scientific evidence, positive or negative, we continue to believe that good corporate governance helps improve a company's chances of performing well. Corporate governance must therefore be carefully examined by the analyst when assessing the company and its shares.
  3. Promote rather than coerce
    The most militant ESG investors are rising to the forefront and using a vocabulary that is deliberately combative. They make eloquent speeches at general meetings to exert pressure. Some index fund managers, caught up in their all-inclusive approach, recycle ESG rhetoric and resort to power demonstrations to justify holding certain positions they should be selling according to their own criteria. In reality, shareholder activism has a rather mixed record. In any case, it should remain in the realm of incentive rather than coercion and confrontation.
  4. Vote with your feet
    An expression attributed to Ronald Mc Donald; the best way to express your financial or ethical dissatisfaction with a listed company is to refrain from buying its shares. Fundamentalist activism, on the other hand, is based on a contradiction: it encourages investors to buy as many shares as possible of a questionable company. The purpose is to bring together as many votes as possible: logical. But in doing so, it exposes the very same investors to the risk of the weak position throughout the duration of the deal and if it fails to implement the desired change, the risk is greater.... Instead, we advise investors to use their feet and be very selective, and leave the investors who are forced by their investment style, such as the index-linked fund, to struggle with problematic companies...
  5. Evaluate a company as a whole
    Active management consists of a strict selection of equities in a portfolio. Analysts must assess the company as a whole. It makes little sense to look at the financial aspect without looking at the corporate governance or strategy aspects. The expert analyst must make a recommendation to buy, hold or sell the security based on a multitude of criteria and in very different contexts depending on the company. Different filters and scoring models are used, but only as a decision-making aid. Ultimately, he must use his judgement and reputation as an expert.

* We invite you to consult bcge.ch, synchronyfunds.ch, avantageservice.ch and in particular to download our online brochures



More than 20 years of commitment and innovation


How to acquire equipment, borrow or invest money, seek advice, obtain information or protect oneself while aiming for the highest ethical and environmental criteria?

Your are a BCGE client:

  • Contact your BCGE adviser
  • Arrange a meeting online at bcge.ch

You are not yet a BCGE client:

  • Contact us on 058 211 21 00 Monday to Friday from 7h30 to 19h30, Saturday from 9am to 4pm and Sunday from 9am to 1pm.
  • Write to us using the contact form
  • Arrange a meeting online at bcge.ch
  • Arrange a meeting online at avantageservice.ch
  • Arrange a meeting online at synchronyfunds.ch


Glossary of terms

Sustainable development: Concept of economic growth with a longterm perspective and integrating environmental and social constraints.
ESG – Environmental, Social and Governance:

  • Environmental: takes into account all the issues related to the impact of human activities on nature and the generation of environmental risks.
  • Social: considers the organisation of social interactions, including factors such as gender, human rights, relations with the civil community.
  • Governance: focuses on the alignment of interests between capital providers and business leaders.

SRI: Socially Responsible Investment
CSR: Corporate Social Responsibility

Contact us Contact form

Verantwortliche Performance

Eine Auswahl von Dienstleistungen mit höchsten ethischen und ökologischen Ansprüchen.

Leitlinie


Handlungsrahmen


Die BCGE engagiert sich für Ihre Stakeholder:

Die Aktionärinnen und Aktionäre

Die BCGE engagiert sich für ihre Aktionärinnen und Aktionäre, indem sie sie mit guten Ergebnissen, einer ausgewogenen Dividendenpolitik und einer Notierung am Kapitalmarkt, die Transparenz garantiert und die Einhaltung eines äusserst strengen Verhaltenskodex vorschreibt, motiviert.
 

Die Kundinnen und Kunden
Die BCGE engagiert sich langfristig für ihre Kundinnen und Kunden und deren Familien, indem sie ihre Interessen wahrt, ihnen eine erstklassige Beratung zukommen lässt und auf transparente Weise mit ihnen kommuniziert.
 

Die Mitarbeitenden
Die BCGE engagiert sich auf loyale und respektvolle Weise für ihre Mitarbeitenden, indem sie sie in ihrer persönlichen Entwicklung unterstützt, ohne sie in irgendeiner Form zu diskriminieren.
 

Die Gemeinschaft
Die BCGE engagiert sich auch für die Gemeinschaft, namentlich durch die Erbringung von Dienstleistungen für alle, die Förderung sozial verantwortlicher Aktivitäten, die Schaffung von Mehrwert für öffentliche Körperschaften und die Wahrnehmung ihres gesetzlichen Auftrags zur Entwicklung der Wirtschaft. In den Bereichen Finanzierungen und Anlagen achtet sie darauf, keine Projekte zu unterstützen, die ihren Grundsätzen der sozialen Verantwortung widersprechen.



Eine Palette strategischer Bankdienstleistungen für Privatpersonen*


Tägliche Bankgeschäfte

Netbanking


Die Online-Banking-Lösung der BCGE leistet durch Einsparungen beim Papierverbrauch sowie durch die Verringerung von Postsendungen einen aktiven Beitrag zum Schutz der Umwelt.

Avantage service

Avantage Service ist ein Treueprogramm, das weder Papier verbraucht noch irgendwelche überflüssigen Gadgets verschenkt, sondern einen zusätzlichen Zinsbonus auf Ihre Ersparnisse bietet – ohne die Umwelt auf irgendeine Weise zu belasten. Die BCGE bietet all ihre täglichen Bankdienstleistungen auch in elektronischer Form an, entweder online oder in ihren Filialen. Dieses Angebot ist auf Nachhaltigkeit und die Einhaltung sehr hoher Qualitätsstandards ausgelegt.

Mit dem für Privatpersonen bestimmten Hypothekendarlehen können auch Investitionen finanziert werden, die den Anforderungen des Minergie-Labels entsprechen. Diese «grüne» Option ermöglicht es, den Komfort zu optimieren und gleichzeitig die Umwelt zu schonen – und das auch noch zu einem Vorzugstarif. Mit einer Minergie-Hypothek können Sie eine Immobilie erwerben, bauen oder renovieren und gleichzeitig Ihre Energiekosten senken.

Mit einem Kredit für nachhaltige Renovationsarbeiten können Hausbesitzerinnen und Hausbesitzer die nachhaltige Renovation ihres Eigenheims zu einem Vorzugszinssatz von 3,90 % finanzieren.

Für die Finanzierung von Elektrofahrzeugen oder Fahrzeugen mit geringem Kraftstoffverbrauch bieten wir einen Vorzugstarif. Er gilt für sämtliche Modelle, die auf der vom Kanton Genf erstellten Liste der umweltfreundlichsten Fahrzeuge verzeichnet sind.

Vorsorge


Der Fonds investiert nur in Vermögenswerte (Aktien, Anleihen und Anlagefonds), die allgemein als nachhaltig oder sozial verantwortlich anerkannt sind. Diese ähnlichen Begriffe beziehen sich auf einen Managementansatz, bei dem es nicht ausschliesslich um wirtschaftliche Performance, sondern auch um den Respekt vor der Umwelt sowie vor menschlichen und ethischen Werten geht.

Anlagen

Best of
Das Mandat «Best of ESG» basiert auf den gleichen Grundlagen wie seine Vorgänger und ermöglicht es, bereits ab CHF 50 000.– von einer seit nunmehr fast 20 Jahren bewährten Erfahrung zu profitieren. Dieses mit den Anforderungen an eine nachhaltige Finanzwirtschaft kompatible Verwaltungsmandat in CHF ist in 4 verschiedenen Anlageprofilen verfügbar, die dem Risikoprofil der jeweiligen Anlegerin bzw. des jeweiligen Anlegers entsprechen: defensiv, ausgewogen, dynamisch oder World Equity. Die Asset Allocation entspricht in etwa der der klassischen «Best of»-Mandate.

Best of

Der Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Erzielung von Kapitalgewinnen, wobei gleichzeitig ein Teil in Anleihen und Immobilien angelegt wird. Anlagen werden vorrangig in Schweizer Vermögenswerten getätigt, die als nachhaltig gelten.

Diese Fonds investieren langfristig in rund 30 Schweizer Nebenwerte (börsenkotierte, nicht im SMI gelistete Unternehmen), die auf der Grundlage von nachhaltigen Kriterien ausgewählt werden. Dazu müssen die Unternehmen über finanzielle, soziale und ökologische Qualitäten verfügen, die nicht nur insgesamt ausgeglichen, sondern im Vergleich zu anderen Unternehmen auch überdurchschnittlich sind.

Der Fonds ist zu mindestens zwei Dritteln in Anleihen der Eidgenossenschaft investiert. Der Restbetrag kann in Anleihen oder anderen Schuldverschreibungen angelegt werden, die von einem schweizerischen öffentlich-rechtlichen Unternehmen oder einer Pfandbriefzentrale ausgegeben oder garantiert werden.

Tranding online 1816

Mit der Online-Trading-Plattform 1816 können Sie Ihre Anlagen an der Börse völlig eigenständig steuern. Die ins BCGE Netbanking und ins BCGE Mobile Netbanking eingebundene Plattform 1816 ist einfach zu bedienen, praktisch und günstig.

Verhaltenskodex

Das bankinterne Label «Verantwortliche Performance» bleibt Dienstleistungen vorbehalten, die eine Vielzahl von Auswahlkriterien erfüllen. Dabei lassen wir uns von den folgenden Grundsätzen leiten:

  1. Anlegerinnen und Anleger entscheiden selbst über die Auswahlkriterien und nicht die Technokratie des nachhaltigen Investments.
    Angesichts der Vielzahl von Einschränkungen und Anforderungen, die an ein Unternehmen gestellt werden können, müssen Entscheidungen getroffen werden. Diese Entscheidungen haben in erster Linie Anlegerinnen und Anleger zu treffen und müssen nicht von wohlmeinenden privaten oder öffentlichen Think Tanks für sich beansprucht werden. So spaltet zum Beispiel die Kontroverse um fossile Brennstoffe, Windkraft oder Kernenergie viele Anlegerinnen und Anleger. Jede bzw. jeder von ihnen hat eigene Vorstellungen und ihre Präferenzen bestimmen die Grenzen des Portfolios. Danach ist es Aufgabe der Portfoliomanagerin oder des Portfoliomanagers, nach Lösungen für die Auswahl und die Filterung zu suchen.
  2. Die ESG-Filterung muss langfristig zu einer besseren finanziellen Performance führen.
    Die Anwendungsbereiche des ESG-Ansatzes sind äusserst vielfältig. Daher müssen zuerst die verschiedenen Themen identifiziert und Prioritäten gesetzt werden, wobei das Hauptaugenmerk der Verbesserung der Perfomance des Portfolios zu gelten hat. Dabei kommt es häufig auch zu verzwickten Situationen, in denen eine Entscheidung getroffen werden muss. Was ist zum Beispiel mit dem «Impact Investing», dem wirkungsvollen Investieren, das einer guten Sache dienen soll, dann aber dazu führt, dass sich die Performance eines Pensionsfonds verschlechtert? Aus unserer Sicht geht ein solcher Fall über den Rahmen von ESG hinaus und nähert sich der Philanthropie, die auf einer völlig anderen Logik basiert (Unentgeltlichkeit, Anonymität). Darüber hinaus «gelangen unzählige wissenschaftliche Studien, die den Zusammenhang zwischen Corporate Social Responsibility und der Aktienperformance untersuchen, zu widersprüchlichen Schlussfolgerungen bei diesem Thema.»3 In Ermangelung wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse, ob positiv oder negativ, gehen wir nach wie vor davon aus, dass eine vorbildliche Unternehmensführung dazu beiträgt, die Chancen eines Unternehmens, eine gute Performance zu erzielen, verbessert. Bei der Bewertung eines Unternehmens und des entsprechenden Titels müssen Analystinnen und Analysten der Unternehmensführung daher grösste Aufmerksamkeit zukommen lassen.
  3. Eher anregen als konfrontieren
    Die militantesten Anleger mit ESG-Ansprüchen treten in den Vordergrund und verwenden ein bewusst kämpferisches Vokabular. Sie führen an Generalversammlungen wortreiche Reden, um Druck auszuüben. Bestimmte Indexmanager, Gefangene ihrer «All Inclusive»-Methode, bereiten den ESG-Diskurs neu auf und greifen auf Machtdemonstrationen zurück, um das Halten bestimmter Positionen, die sie nach ihren eigenen Kriterien eigentlich verkaufen müssten, zu rechtfertigen. In Wirklichkeit weist der Aktionärsaktivismus jedoch eine eher gemischte Bilanz auf. Auf jeden Fall täte er gut daran, sich eher des Registers der Anregung anstelle jenes des Zwangs und der Konfrontation zu bedienen.
  4. Mit den Füssen abstimmen
    Eine Äusserung, die Ronald McDonald zugeschrieben wird. Es handelt sich um die beste Art und Weise, seine finanzielle oder ethische Unzufriedenheit mit einem börsenkotierten Unternehmen zum Ausdruck zu bringen und besteht ganz einfach darin, vom Kauf seiner Aktien abzusehen. Der «Fundamental-Aktivismus» hingegen basiert auf einem Widerspruch: Er ermutigt Anlegerinnen und Anleger, so viele Aktien wie möglich eines kritikwürdigen Unternehmens zu kaufen. Auf diese Weise will er so viele Stimmen wie möglich bündeln. Das erscheint logisch. Dabei setzt er jedoch dieselben Anlegerinnen und Anleger während der gesamten Dauer der Transaktion dem Risiko einer schwachen Position aus. Sollte zudem die gewünschte Änderung nicht durchgesetzt werden, wird das Risiko noch weiter erhöht ... Wir empfehlen Anlegerinnen und Anlegern, besser ihre Füsse zu benutzen und sehr selektiv zu sein. Sollen sich doch Anlegerinnen und Anleger, die durch ihren Anlagestil, wie z. B einen indexgebundenen, dazu gezwungenen werden, mit den problematischen Unternehmen herumschlagen ...
  5. Ein Unternehmen in seiner Gesamtheit betrachten
    Aktives Management besteht aus einer strengen Auswahl der Aktien eines Portfolios. Analystinnen und Analysten müssen das Unternehmen als Ganzes beurteilen. Den finanziellen Aspekt ohne die Aspekte Corporate Governance oder Strategie zu betrachten, ergibt wenig Sinn. Die Expertin bzw. der Experte muss eine Empfehlung zum Kauf, Halten oder Verkauf des Wertpapiers auf der Grundlage einer Vielzahl von Kriterien treffen und je nach Unternehmen auch in sehr unterschiedlichen Kontexten. Dabei kommen Scoring-Filter und -Modelle zur Anwendung, allerdings nur als Entscheidungshilfen. Letztendlich müssen Expertinnen und Experten ihr Urteilsvermögen und ihren Ruf einsetzen.
* Weitere Informationen finden Sie auch auf den folgenden Websites: bcge.ch, synchronyfunds.ch, avantageservice.ch. Die online abrufbare Broschüre enthält ebenfalls zahlreiche Details zu unserem Dienstleistungsangebot.



Mehr als 20 Jahre Engagement und Innovationsgeist



Wie soll ich vorgehen, wenn ich mich ausstatten, einen Kredit aufnehmen, Geld anlegen, mich beraten lassen, mich informieren oder mich schützen möchte, und zwar unter Einhaltung höchster ethischer und ökologische Kriterien?


Sie sind bereits Kundin oder Kunde der BCGE?

  • Kontaktieren Sie einfach Ihre BCGE Kundenberaterin oder Ihren BCGE Kundenberater.
  • Vereinbaren Sie online einen Termin auf bcge.ch.


Sie sind noch nicht Kundin oder Kunde der BCGE?

  • Rufen Sie uns an unter der Nummer 058 211 21 00, Montag bis Freitag von 7.30–19.30 Uhr, samstags von 9.0016.00 Uhr und sonntags von 9.00–13.00 Uhr gerne zur Verfügung.
  • Schicken Sie uns über das Kontaktformular eine Nachricht.
  • Vereinbaren Sie online einen Termin auf bcge.ch.
  • Vereinbaren Sie online einen Termin auf avantagservice.ch.
  • Vereinbaren Sie online einen Termin auf synchronyfunds.ch.


Glossar

CSR (Corporate Social Responsibility): Gesellschaftliche Verantwortung der Unternehmen.

ESG – Environment (Umwelt), Social (Soziales) und Governance (Unternehmensführung):

  • Umwelt: Berücksichtigung aller Fragen im Zusammenhang mit den Auswirkungen menschlicher Aktivitäten auf die Natur und zur Entstehung von Umweltrisiken.
  • Soziales: Berücksichtigung der Gestaltung sozialer Interaktionen, inklusive Faktoren wie Geschlecht, Menschenrechte und Beziehungen zur Zivilgesellschaft.
  • Unternehmensführung: Beachtung der Interessenabstimmung zwischen Kapitalgebern und Unternehmensführung.

Nachhaltige Entwicklung: Gestaltung des Wirtschaftswachstums mit langfristiger Perspektive unter Berücksichtigung ökologischer und gesellschaftlicher Auflagen.

SRI (Socially Responsible Investments): Sozial verantwortliche Investitionen.

Broschüre Verantwortliche Performance Nachhaltige Finanzwirtschaft: die wirklichen Anforderungen
Kontakt Kontaktformular