Half-year Group results as at 30 June 2021

Record net profit

Geneva, 10 August 2021 – BCGE posted an excellent economic performance in the first half of the year. Net profit reached a record level of CHF 64 million (+16.3%) and all performance indicators were up. Assets under management and administration reached CHF 33.4 billion (+5.1%), mortgage loans CHF 12.4 billion (+3.1%) and equity capital CHF 1.754 billion (+2.2%). The operating profit on equity is at a very high level at 9% and capital coverage is optimal at 15.9%. Barring a deterioration in the economic situation and taking into account the very positive commercial developments, the bank expects an increase in overall earnings for the year, allowing for growth in equity capital and the dividend1.

 

Key consolidated figures for the first half of 2021

Turnover continues its strong growth trend

The bank's business model enables it to adapt well to the recovery of the Swiss and international economies. Assets under management and administration rose to CHF 33.4 billion (+5.1%) and mortgage loans to CHF 12.4 billion (+3.1%). Net profit reached a record level at CHF 64 million (+16.3%).

 

The bank recorded a marked increase in revenues (+12%) thanks to the contribution of all its business lines. Net interest income totalled CHF 104 million and, taking into account the early regulatory provisions for sound loans, reached a total of CHF 126 million1. Commissions rose to CHF 65.8 million (+11%) and trading operations to CHF 17.0 million (+11%). Turnover thus rose to CHF 205.3 million. The share of the Group's turnover in EUR and USD was 28.7%, reflecting the Group's focus on international business. Operating expenses remained under control at CHF 125.4 million and reflect the expansion of the Group, which is digitalising and making the transition to energy-efficient buildings and recruiting in cutting-edge areas. The Group's workforce grew by 27 new positions over the year to reach 824 employees (in full-time equivalents).

 

BCGE: a major contributor to the financing Geneva's economy

The bank grants loans worth CHF 18.2 billion to companies and private individuals. Since 31 December 2020, an additional 255 businesses have joined the ranks of clients, bringing the total to 20,864 businesses (legal entities). Mortgage loans increased by a targeted CHF 12.4 billion (+3.1%). Their share in the balance sheet total is moderate (44.3%), reflecting a disciplined risk diversification policy.

 

Increase in assets management and administration

Assets under management and administration rose to CHF 1.6 billion to reach the significant milestone of CHF 33 billion. Private clients were the main contributors to this remarkable growth, and private banking registered 1,053 new Best of management mandates during the half-year. Synchrony investment funds reached CHF 3.7 billion.  

 

Equity capital continues to increase

Equity capital increased by CHF 38 million (+2.2%), bringing it to CHF 1.754 billion. The consolidated equity capitalisation ratio is close to 16%. The bank belongs to the group of well-capitalised and secure banks, as reflected in its A+/Positive/A-1 rating, which was confirmed in 2021.

 

340 new shareholders

The number of private and institutional shareholders has been growing year on year, reaching 15,408 on 30 June. The floating part of the capital is widely distributed as 83.3% of shareholders hold between 1 and 50 shares.

 

The BCGE share price grew by 8.5%

The BCGE share price ended the half year period at CHF 172.50. The potential for growth remains high, since compared to the level of equity capital, the intrinsic value of the share stands at CHF 246.92.

 

Strategic priorities for 2021

The strategic priorities that guide the BCGE’s development are as follows:

  • Core partner for the regional economy and SMEs.
  • Key player in the financing of private and social housing in Geneva.
  • Recognised experience in advisory services for Swiss and international private banking.
  • Expert in asset management and investment funds.
  • Beacon for the influence of Geneva's economy and trade in Switzerland and around the world.
  • Innovative leader in bank digitisation.
  • Partner to corporate and private clients in the energy transition process.

 

Outlook for 2021

The bank is stepping up the pace of business expansion, backed by the recovery of the Swiss and international economies. Its current impetus is based on the diversity of its skills and on the suitability of its business model to the demands of its clients.

  • The growth of high added-value business and the loyalty of its client base reaffirm BCGE’s favourable strategic positioning.
  • The bank's financial strength makes it a safe and stable custodial address.
  • The bank expects low interest rates and a deteriorated economic climate to continue, factors which are likely to affect its interest margin and commission revenues.
  • The increase in lending remains moderate due to the regulations governing capital requirements and a policy of caution.
  • The bank is promoting the development of its less capital-intensive businesses (private and institutional asset management, corporate advisory services, private equity).

 

Barring a deterioration in the economic situation and taking into account the very positive commercial developments, the bank expects an increase in overall earnings for the year, allowing for growth in equity capital and the dividend.


1 Based on the excellent results of the first half of the year, the bank has decided to anticipate the regulatory provisions of sound loans / Expected Credit Losses allocation of CHF 25.6 million in full. See the notes to the financial statements for more details.

Halbjahresergebnisse der Gruppe per 30. Juni 2021

Rekord-Reingewinn

Genf, den 10. August 2021 – Die BCGE verzeichnet für das erste Semester eine ausgezeichnete Wirtschaftsleistung. Der Reingewinn erreicht einen neuen Rekordstand mit CHF 64 Mio. (+16,3 %) und die gesamten Leistungskennzahlen sind im Anstieg begriffen. Das verwaltete Vermögen beträgt CHF 33,4 Mrd. (+5,1 %), die Hypothekarforderungen CHF 12,4 Mrd. und die Eigenmittel CHF 1,754 Mrd. (+ 2,2 %). Das Betriebsergebnis über Eigenkapital liegt auf dem guten Stand von 9% und die Kapitaldeckung ist mit 15,9 % optimal. Vorbehalten eines Konjunkturabschwungs und angesichts der positiven Geschäftsentwicklung erwartet die Bank ein wachsendes Gesamtergebnis für das Jahr, was die Erhöhung des Eigenkapitals und eine Dividendenausschüttung erlauben würde1.

 

Konsolidierte Schlüsselzahlen des 1. Semesters 2021


Der Umsatz ist Bestandteil eines starken Wachstumstrends

Im Umfeld der schweizerischen und internationalen wirtschaftlichen Erholung zeichnet sich das Geschäftsmodell der Bank durch eine hohe Reaktivität aus. Das verwaltete Vermögen wächst auf CHF 33,4 Mrd. (+5,1%) an und die Hypothekarforderungen auf CHF 12,4 Mrd. (+3,1%). Der Reingewinn erreicht mit CHF 64 Mio. (+16,3 %) einen neuen Rekord.

 

Die Bank verzeichnet dank aller ihrer Tätigkeitsbereiche ein deutliches Wachstum ihrer Einnahmen (+12 %). Das Nettoergebnis aus Zinsgeschäften beläuft sich auf CH 104 Mio. und unter Berücksichtigung der Vorwegnahme der regulatorischen Rückstellung für zuverlässige Forderungen auf insgesamt CHF 126 Mio.[1] Das verwaltete Vermögen wächst auf CHF 65,8 Mrd. (+11 %) an und die Handelsgeschäfte auf CHF 17,0 Mrd. (+11 %). Somit steigt der Umsatz auf CHF 205,3 Mio. Der Anteil des Umsatzes in EUR und USD erreicht 28,7 %, ein Beweis dafür, dass die Internationalisierung der Geschäftstätigkeit positiv ist. Die Betriebskosten sind mit CHF 125,4 Mio. unter Kontrolle und antizipieren die Ausweitung der Gruppe, die die Digitalisierung und den Energiewechsel ihrer Gebäulichkeiten leitet und in zukunftsweisenden Bereichen Personal rekrutiert. Der Personalbestand der Gruppe ist mit 27 Neustellen im Verlauf des Jahres auf 824 Mitarbeitende angestiegen (in Vollzeitäquivalenten).

 

BCGE, eine ausschlaggebende Akteurin der Finanzierung des Wirtschafsraums Genf.

Die Bank gewährt Firmen und Privatpersonen Kredite im Gesamtwert von CHF 18,2 Mrd. Seit dem 31. Dezember 2020, sind 255 weitere Firmen Kunde der Bank geworden, insgesamt also 20 864 Unternehmen (juristische Personen). Die Hypothekarforderungen sind gezielt auf CHF 12,4 Mrd. (+3,1 %) angestiegen. Ihr Anteil an der Bilanzsumme ist bescheiden (44,3 %), was eine disziplinierte Politik der Risikodiversifikation widerspiegelt.

 

Wachstum des verwalteten Vermögens

Das verwaltete Vermögen wächst um CHF 1,6 Mrd. und überschreitet damit die bedeutungsvolle Marke von CHF 33 Mrd. Hauptbeiträger dieses bemerkenswerten Wachstums ist die Privatkundschaft. Das Private Banking verzeichnet den Abschluss von 1053 neuen Best of-Verwaltungsmandaten im Verlauf des 1. Semesters. Die Anlagefonds der Marke Synchrony erreichen CHF 3,7 Mrd.

 

Anhaltender Anstieg des Eigenkapitals

Die Eigenmittel steigen auf CHF 38 Mio. (+2.2 %) an und erreichen damit den Betrag von CHF 1,754 Mrd. Die Deckung der konsolidierten Eigenmittel liegt bei 16 %. Die Bank gehört zum Kreis der gut kapitalisierten und sicheren Banken, was ihr Rating von A+/Positiv/A-1 im 2021 bestätigt.

 

340 neue Aktionäre

Die Gemeinschaft des privaten und institutionellen Aktionärskreises nimmt jedes Jahr zu und erreicht am 30. Juni 15 408 Mitglieder. Der variable Anteil des Kapitals ist weit gefächert, denn 83,3% der Aktionäre halten zwischen 1 - 50 Aktionen.

 

Die BCGE-Aktion legt um 8.5% zu

Der Kurs der BCGE-Aktion schliesst das Semester mit CHF 172.50 ab. Das Wachstumspotential ist nach wie vor beträchtlich, denn im Vergleich zum Eigenkapital beträgt der innere Wert der Aktie CHF 246.92.

 

Strategische Prioritäten 2021

Folgende strategischen Schwerpunkte lenken die Entwicklung der BCGE:

  • Zentrale Partnerin der regionalen Wirtschaft und der KMU
  • Hauptakteurin bei der Finanzierung von privatem und sozialem Wohnraum in Genf.
  • Anerkannte und effiziente Beraterin im schweizerischen und internationalen Private Banking.
  • Spezialistin im Asset Management und bei Anlagefonds.
  • Treibende Kraft der Ausstrahlung des Genfer Wirtschafts- und Handelsplatzes in der Schweiz und weltweit.
  • Innovierende Akteurin der Digitalisierung des Bankwesens.
  • Begleiterin der Firmen- und Privatkundschaft bei der Energieumstellung.
     

Prognosen 2021

Auf der Grundlage der schweizerischen und internationalen wirtschaftlichen Erholung, beschleunigt die Bank ihre Geschäftsausweitung. Ihr gegenwärtiger Auftrieb beruht auf der Vielfalt ihrer Kompetenzen und der Übereinstimmung ihres Geschäftsmodells mit den Bedürfnissen ihrer Kunden.

  • Das Wachstum ihrer Geschäftstätigkeit mit hohem Mehrwert und die Treue ihrer Kundschaft bestätigen die richtige strategische Positionierung der BCGE.
  • Ihre finanzielle Solidität machen sie zu einer sicheren und stabilen Verwahrungsstelle.
  • Die Bank rechnet weiterhin mit tiefen Zinsen und unsicheren wirtschaftlichen Bedingungen, Faktoren, die ihre Zinsmarge und Kommissionsgeschäfte beeinflussen dürften.
  • Der Anstieg der Kreditvergabe bleibt aufgrund der Eigenmittelvorschriften und einer vorsichtigen Kreditpolitik gering.
  • Die Bank bevorzugt den Ausbau von weniger kapitalintensiven Geschäften (Verwaltung von privatem und institutionellem Vermögen, Unternehmensberatung, Private Equity).

 

Vorbehaltlich einer Konjunkturverschlechterung und angesichts der positiven Geschäftsentwicklung erwartet die Bank einen Zuwachs des Gesamtergebnisses für das ganze Jahr, was eine Erhöhung der Eigenmittel erlauben würde.



1Angesichts der ausgezeichneten Halbjahresergebnisse hat die Bank beschlossen, die gesamten regulatorischen Rückstellungen auf zuverlässigen Forderungen / Zuweisung an Expected Credit Losses von CHF 25.6 im Voraus zu bilden. Siehe Anhang zum Abschluss für detaillierte Angaben.