Responsible performance

Banking services that meet the highest ethical and environmental criteria.

Guidelines for action


Framework for action


 

BCGE is committed to its stakeholders:

The shareholders
BCGE is committed to its shareholders by motivating them with strong results, a well-balanced dividend policy and a listing on the capital market which constitutes a guarantee of transparency and imposes a very demanding code of conduct.
 

The clients
BCGE is committed over the long term to its clients and their family circle by respecting their interests, providing them with high quality advice and transparent communication.
 

The team
BCGE is committed to its employees with loyalty and respect by supporting their personal development and treating them without discrimination.
 

The community
BCGE is committed to contributing to the development of the economy by distributing its services in an equitable way, supporting socially responsible activities, creating added value for public authorities and exercising its legal mission of contributing to the development of the economy. In the field of financing and investment, it is careful not to support projects that are contrary to its principles of social responsibility.



A range of strategic banking services for individuals*


Day-to-day banking

Netbanking
BCGE's online banking solution makes an active contribution to protecting the environment by reducing the amount of paper used and the number of postal items sent.
Avantage service
Avantage service is a loyalty programme that consumes no paper, does not offer cumbersome gadgets as rewards but rather offers an additional interest bonus on savings, with no environmental impact. The range of day-to-day banking services provided by BCGE is available online and in branches in a completely digital form. This facility is intended to ensure sustainability and to maintain a very high level of quality.

Financing

The mortgage loan intended for private individuals can also be used to finance investments that meet the requirements of the “Minergie“ label. This “green“ option makes it possible to optimise comfort while respecting the environment and obtaining a preferential rate. The “Minergie“ home loan enables you to acquire, build or renovate a property while reducing your energy costs.

The sustainable renovation project loan enables homeowners to finance sustainable renovation work at a preferential rate of 3.90%.

A preferential rate is available for financing electric or low fuel consumption vehicles. This preferential rate is applicable to models that figure on the list of low-pollution vehicles compiled by the canton.

Pension Planning


This fund invests only in assets (equities, bonds and investment funds) that are generally recognised as sustainable or socially responsible. These similar terms refer to a management approach that does not focus solely on economic performance, but also on respect for the environment and human and ethical values.

Investments

Best of
The Best of ESG mandate is built on the same principles as its predecessors and allows clients to benefit from almost 20 years of proven experience starting at CHF 50,000.  This new management mandate, which is compatible with the requirements of sustainable finance, is available in CHF in 4 investment profiles, depending on the risk profile of each investor: defensive, balanced, dynamic or world equity. The asset allocation corresponds to that of the Best of classics.

Best of
The focus is on generating capital gains, while at the same time investing a portion in bonds and real estate. Investments are made primarily in Swiss assets that are considered sustainable.

These funds invest for the long term in approximately 30 Swiss secondary securities (listed companies outside the SMI) selected on the basis of sustainable criteria. To be selected, companies must have financial, social and environmental qualities that are both globally balanced and individually above average.

This fund invests in federal bonds for at least two thirds of its value. The balance may be invested in bonds or other debt securities issued or guaranteed by a Swiss public-sector entity or by a central mortgage bond institution.
Tranding online 1816
The 1816 platform allows you to manage your investments independently on the stock exchange. Integrated into Netbanking and BCGE Mobile Netbanking, 1816 is paperless, simple, practical and competitive.

Code of conduct

The internal "Responsible Performance" label is reserved for services that meet a number of selective criteria. Our selection principles are as follows:

  1. It is not the technocracy but the investor who decides on his selection criteria for sustainable investments
    Choices must be made in the face of the multitude of restrictions and requirements that can be applied to a company. These choices are primarily made by investors and do not have to be taken up by well-meaning private or public think tanks. For example, the carbon-wind-power-nuclear controversy divides many investors. Each investor will articulate his or her vision and it is his or her preferences that will shape the portfolio. It is then up to the manager to look for selection and filtering solutions.
  2. ESG filtering must lead to better long-term financial performance
    The applications of the ESG approach are very diverse. Therefore, the different issues need to be identified and priorities set, with the main focus on improving the performance of the portfolio. This often leads to tricky situations in which a decision has to be made. For example, what about impact investing, which is an effective investment that serves a good cause but then leads to a deterioration in the performance of a pension fund? In our opinion, a case like this goes beyond the scope of ESG and approaches philanthropy, which is a completely different approach (gratuitous, anonymous). In addition, “countless academic studies investigating the relationship between corporate social responsibility and share performance have come to contradictory conclusions on the subject“3. In the absence of scientific evidence, positive or negative, we continue to believe that good corporate governance helps improve a company's chances of performing well. Corporate governance must therefore be carefully examined by the analyst when assessing the company and its shares.
  3. Promote rather than coerce
    The most militant ESG investors are rising to the forefront and using a vocabulary that is deliberately combative. They make eloquent speeches at general meetings to exert pressure. Some index fund managers, caught up in their all-inclusive approach, recycle ESG rhetoric and resort to power demonstrations to justify holding certain positions they should be selling according to their own criteria. In reality, shareholder activism has a rather mixed record. In any case, it should remain in the realm of incentive rather than coercion and confrontation.
  4. Vote with your feet
    An expression attributed to Ronald Mc Donald; the best way to express your financial or ethical dissatisfaction with a listed company is to refrain from buying its shares. Fundamentalist activism, on the other hand, is based on a contradiction: it encourages investors to buy as many shares as possible of a questionable company. The purpose is to bring together as many votes as possible: logical. But in doing so, it exposes the very same investors to the risk of the weak position throughout the duration of the deal and if it fails to implement the desired change, the risk is greater.... Instead, we advise investors to use their feet and be very selective, and leave the investors who are forced by their investment style, such as the index-linked fund, to struggle with problematic companies...
  5. Evaluate a company as a whole
    Active management consists of a strict selection of equities in a portfolio. Analysts must assess the company as a whole. It makes little sense to look at the financial aspect without looking at the corporate governance or strategy aspects. The expert analyst must make a recommendation to buy, hold or sell the security based on a multitude of criteria and in very different contexts depending on the company. Different filters and scoring models are used, but only as a decision-making aid. Ultimately, he must use his judgement and reputation as an expert.

* We invite you to consult bcge.ch, synchronyfunds.ch, avantageservice.ch and in particular to download our online brochures



More than 20 years of commitment and innovation


How to acquire equipment, borrow or invest money, seek advice, obtain information or protect oneself while aiming for the highest ethical and environmental criteria?

Your are a BCGE client:

  • Contact your BCGE adviser
  • Arrange a meeting online at bcge.ch

You are not yet a BCGE client:

  • Contact us on 058 211 21 00 Monday to Friday from 7h30 to 19h30, Saturday from 9am to 4pm and Sunday from 9am to 1pm.
  • Write to us using the contact form
  • Arrange a meeting online at bcge.ch
  • Arrange a meeting online at avantageservice.ch
  • Arrange a meeting online at synchronyfunds.ch


Glossary of terms

Sustainable development: Concept of economic growth with a longterm perspective and integrating environmental and social constraints.
ESG – Environmental, Social and Governance:

  • Environmental: takes into account all the issues related to the impact of human activities on nature and the generation of environmental risks.
  • Social: considers the organisation of social interactions, including factors such as gender, human rights, relations with the civil community.
  • Governance: focuses on the alignment of interests between capital providers and business leaders.

SRI: Socially Responsible Investment
CSR: Corporate Social Responsibility

Contact us Contact form

Performance responsable

Un choix de prestations visant les plus hauts critères éthiques et environnementaux.

Ligne de conduite

  • La banque est un projet public privé qui soutient le développement économique de Genève et de sa région.
  • La banque crée de la valeur pour toutes ses parties prenantes.
  • La banque offre à ses clients le choix entre des prestations classiques ou des prestations “responsables“.
  • Brochure performance responsable
  • Finance durable : les vraies exigences


Cadre de l'action


 

La BCGE s’engage auprès de ses parties prenantes:

Les actionnaires
La BCGE s’engage auprès de ses actionnaires en les motivant par des résultats élevés, une politique de distribution bien équilibrée et une cotation sur le marché des capitaux qui constitue un gage de transparence et impose un code de conduite très exigeant.

Les clients
La BCGE s’engage sur le long terme auprès de ses clients et de leur cercle familial en respectant leurs intérêts, en leur apportant une qualité de conseil de très haut niveau et une communication transparente.
 

Les collaborateurs
La BCGE s’engage avec loyauté et respect auprès de ses collaborateurs en les soutenant dans leur développement personnel et en les traitant de manière non discriminatoire.
 

La communauté
La BCGE s’engage auprès de la communauté notamment en distribuant équitablement ses services, en soutenant les activités sociétalement responsables, en créant de la valeur pour les collectivités publiques ou encore en exerçant sa mission légale de contribution au développement de l’économie. Dans le domaine du financement et du placement, elle veille à ne pas soutenir des projets contraires à ses principes de responsabilité sociétale.
 


Une gamme de prestations stratégiques pour particuliers


Services bancaires quotidiens

Netbanking
La solution de banque en ligne de la BCGE permet de contribuer activement à la protection de l’environnement grâce aux options qui permettent d’économiser le papier mais également de réduire les transports de courrier.
Avantage service
Avantage service est un programme de fidélité qui ne consomme aucun papier, n’offre pas de gadgets encombrants mais inscrit une prime d’intérêts supplémentaire sur l’épargne, sans impact environnemental. La gamme de services bancaires au quotidien de la BCGE est disponible en ligne et en agence de manière totalement dématérialisée. Cette facilité s’inscrit dans un souci de durabilité et de maintien d’un très haut niveau de qualité.

Financements

Destiné aux particuliers, il finance aussi les investissements qui suivent les prescriptions du label Minergie. Cette option “verte” permet d’optimiser le confort dans le respect l’environnement et d’obtenir un taux préférentiel. Le prêt immobilier pour habitation Minergie vous permet d'acquérir, construire ou rénover un bien immobilier tout en diminuant vos charges énergétiques.

Le Crédit projet Rénovation durable permet, aux propriétaires d’un logement, de financer les travaux de rénovation durable à un taux préférentiel de 3,90%.

Un taux préférentiel est offert pour le financement de véhicules électriques ou à faible consommation de carburant. Ce taux préférentiel s’applique aux modèles qui figurent sur la liste des véhicules les moins polluants établie par le Canton.

Prévoyance


Le fond investit uniquement dans des actifs (actions, obligations et fonds de placements) généralement reconnus comme durables ou encore socialement responsables. Ces termes similaires désignent une approche de la gestion dans laquelle l'impératif de performance économique s’accompagne du respect de l’environnement et de valeurs humaines et éthiques.

Placements

Best of
Construit sur les mêmes principes que ses ainés, le mandat Best of  ESG permet dès CHF 50'000 de profiter d’une expérience confirmée de près de 20 ans. Ce mandat, compatible avec les exigences de la finance durable, est disponible en CHF dans 4 profils d’investissement, qui dépendent du profil de risque de chaque investisseur : défensif, équilibré, dynamique ou world equity. L’allocation d’actifs est similaire à celle des Best of classiques.

Best of
Mettant l'accent sur la réalisation de gains en capitaux tout en maintenant une part investie en obligations et en immobilier. Investissant, en priorité, dans des actifs suisses reconnus comme durables.

Les fonds investissent à long terme dans environ 30 valeurs secondaires suisses (entreprises cotée hors SMI) choisies notamment sur la base de critères durables. Pour être sélectionnées, les entreprises doivent ainsi présenter des qualités financières, sociales et environnementales à la fois globalement équilibrées et individuellement supérieures à la moyenne.

Le fonds investit dans des obligations de la Confédération pour au minimum deux tiers de sa valeur. Le solde peut être investit en obligations ou autres titres de créance émis ou garantis par une collectivité de droit public suisse ou par une centrale d’émission de lettres de gage.
Tranding online 1816
Avec la plateforme 1816, pilotez vos investissements en bourse de manière autonome. Intégrée dans Netbanking et BCGE Mobile Netbanking, 1816 est à la fois dématérialisée, simple, pratique et avantageuse.

Code de conduite

Le label interne "Performance responsable" est réservé à des prestations qui répondent à une multitude de critères sélectifs. Nos principes sélecteurs sont les suivants:

  1. Choix par l'investisseur de ses critères de sélection et pas par la technocratie de l'investissement durable.
    Face à la multitude de contraintes et d’exigences que l’on peut appliquer à une entreprise, il faut faire des choix. Des choix qui appartiennent en premier lieu au client investisseur et qui n’ont pas à être confisqués par des think tanks bien pensants privés ou publics. La polémique carbone-éoliennes-nucléaire, par exemple, sépare de nombreux investisseurs. Chaque investisseur formulera sa vision et ce sont ses préférences qui imprimeront les contraintes sur le portefeuille. C’est ensuite au gestionnaire de rechercher des solutions de sélection et de filtrage.
  2. Le filtrage ESG doit impérativement mener à une meilleure performance financière à long terme.
    Les champs d’application de l’approche ESG sont de natures très diverses. Il convient donc d’inventorier les thèmes et de hiérarchiser les priorités en visant en premier lieu l’amélioration de la performance du portefeuille. Il y a aussi nombre de dilemmes qu’il faut trancher. Quid, par exemple, de l’impact investing sensé favoriser une cause idéale et dont l’effet serait de détériorer la performance d’une caisse de pension. De notre point de vue, un tel cas sort du périmètre ESG pour rejoindre celui de la philanthropie qui procède d’une toute autre logique (gratuité, anonymat). Par ailleurs, “d’innombrables travaux académiques étudiant la relation entre la responsabilité sociale de l’entreprise et la performance d’une action présentent des conclusions contradictoires en la matière”. En absence de preuve scientifique, positive ou négative, nous postulons tout de même qu’une conduite exemplaire de l’entreprise contribue à améliorer ses chances de performance. Elle doit donc faire l’objet d’un examen attentif par l’analyste de l’entreprise et de son titre.
  3. Plutôt inciter que sévir
    Les plus activistes des investisseurs à prétention ESG montent au front et utilisent un vocabulaire volontiers combatif. Ils interviennent sentencieusement lors d’assemblées générales pour exercer des pressions. Certains gestionnaires indiciels, prisonniers de leur méthode “all inclusive”, recyclent ainsi le discours ESG et procèdent à des démonstrations de force pour justifier la détention de certaines positions que leurs propres critères les obligeraient à vendre. En réalité, l’activisme actionnarial présente un bilan plutôt mitigé. En tout état de cause, il devrait rester dans le registre de l’incitation plutôt que dans celui de la contrainte et de l’affrontement.
  4. Voter avec ses pieds
    Expression attribuée à Ronald Mc Donald ; c’est la meilleure façon d’exprimer une insatisfaction financière ou déontologique à l’égard d’une entreprise cotée, elle consiste à s’abstenir d’acheter ses actions. Par contre, l’activisme fondamentaliste est basé sur une contradiction: il incite les investisseurs à acheter le plus possible d’une action d’une entreprise critiquable. Il veut ainsi rassembler le plus possible de voix: logique. Mais ce faisant, il expose les mêmes investisseurs au risque de la position faible pendant toute la durée de l’opération et s’il échoue à faire valoir le changement demandé le risque est encore accru... Nous conseillons aux investisseurs de faire plutôt usage de leurs pieds et de se montrer très sélectifs, laissant aux investisseurs forcés de par leur mode de placement, comme l’indiciel, se débrouiller avec les entreprises à problèmes...
  5. Examiner une entreprise dans sa totalité
    La gestion active consiste à sélectionner sévèrement les actions d’un portefeuille. Les analystes doivent apprécier l’entreprise dans son ensemble. Analyser séparément le volet financier du volet gouvernance ou stratégie n’a pas beaucoup de sens. L’expert analyste doit construire une recommandation d’achat, de conservation ou de vente du titre sur la base d’une multitude de critères et dans des contextes sensiblement différents d’une société à l’autre. Différents filtres et modèles de scoring seront engagés, mais seulement comme aide à la décision. In fine, il doit engager son jugement et sa réputation d’expert.

* Nous vous invitons à consulter les sites bcge.ch, synchronyfunds.ch, avantageservice.ch et particulièrement nos brochures téléchargeables en ligne pour obtenir des informations détaillées au sujet de notre gamme de prestations



Plus de 20 années d’engagement et d’innovation
 


Comment procéder pour s’équiper, emprunter, investir, se faire conseiller, s’informer ou se protéger en visant les plus hauts critères éthiques et environnementaux?

Vous êtes client de la BCGE

  • Contactez votre conseiller BCGE
  • Rendez-vous en ligne sur bcge.ch

Vous n’êtes pas encore client de la BCGE


Glossaire

Développement durable: Conception de la croissance économique envisagée dans une perspective de long terme et intégrant les contraintes liées à l’environnement et au fonctionnement de la société.
ESG – Environnement, Social et Gouvernance:

  • Environnement: prise en compte de l’ensemble des problématiques liées à l’impact des activités humaines sur la nature et la génération de risques environnementaux.
  • Social: considère l’organisation des interactions sociales, incluant des facteurs tels que le genre, les droits de l’homme, les relations avec la communauté civile.
  • Gouvernance: s’intéresse à l’alignement des intérêts entre apporteurs de capitaux et dirigeants d’entreprises.

ISR: Investissement Socialement Responsable
RSE: Responsabilité Sociale des Entreprises

Contactez-nous Formulaire en ligne