2023 Annual Results

Record profit and dividend

BCGE posted a remarkable performance for 2023. Net profit rose by 31.4% to reach a record CHF 231.2 million. Revenues rose by 24.0% to CHF 589.9 million, reflecting the Bank's timely strategic positioning, which has enabled it to capture the dynamism of buoyant economic sectors. Performance indicators remain high. Assets under management and administration rose to CHF 35.3 billion while client receivables and mortgage loans totalled CHF 19.2 billion. Operating profit rose significantly to CHF 281.7 million. Shareholders’ equity increased 10.1% to CHF 2.184 billion, and the coverage ratio reached 17.0%, demonstrating BCGE is part of a circle of well-capitalised and sound banks. The dividend to be proposed at the General Meeting of Shareholders reflects an increase of 18%, amounting to a record CHF 6.50. Barring a significant deterioration in the economy or a sharp drop in interest rates, the Bank expects overall earnings for 2024 to be comparable to those of this past year.
 

Main consolidated figures for the 2023 financial year

Bank revenues surpass the CHF 500 million mark

2023 proves to have been a record year for BCGE with net profit increasing 31.4% to CHF 231.2 million (including an extraordinary result of CHF 10.5 million) and operating profit up 44.5%, for a total of CHF 281.7 million. Growth in revenues, which rose 24.0% to CHF 589.9 million, reflects the Bank's ability to capture the dynamism of buoyant economic sectors. Assets under management and administration increased 5.5% to CHF 35.3 billion while client and mortgage loans rose a total of 3.7% to CHF 19.2 billion. Net interest income reached CHF 390 million while commissions totalled CHF 133 million and trading income CHF 38 million. Operating expenses are keeping pace with company growth and have grown to CHF 285 million, with a cost/income ratio that at 48.3% falls just under 50%. Reflecting the success of international business, the share of revenues in EUR and USD stands at 23.5%. The Group created 43 new jobs in 2023, bringing its total employee count to 917 (full-time equivalents).
 

BCGE: a major financier of Geneva's economy and the region

Loans granted by the Bank to companies and private individuals increased by CHF 677 million, now totalling CHF 19.2 billion. More than 22,000 businesses trust BCGE to support them, an increase of 735 from last year. The moderate share of mortgages in the Bank's balance sheet total (45%) is evidence of the high degree of diversification of its business lines and markets.
 

Growth in assets under management and administration

Private client assets rose CHF 870 million over the period to CHF 19.7 billion. The net contribution of new discretionary mandates was CHF 227 million while funds in the Synchrony range totalled CHF 3.9 billion. The online trading platform 1816 passed the 12,000-investor threshold. Institutional client assets rose 6.7% to CHF 15.6 million.
 

Continued increase in shareholders’ equity

Shareholders’ equity continued to grow, increasing by CHF 200 million to CHF 2.184 billion. At 17.0%, the consolidated equity coverage ratio proved excellent, well above the required 12.7%. This and the Bank's Standard & Poor’s AA-/A-1+/Stable rating demonstrate that BCGE is part of a circle of well-capitalised and sound banks.
 

BCGE share performance: +25.3%

The BCGE share price rose sharply in 2023 and ended the period at CHF 225.0. Nevertheless, the share's market value is still 74% lower than its book value, which stands at CHF 303.3. Compared to the reported equity value of CHF 2.184 billion, the Bank's market capitalisation amounts to CHF 1.620 billion. The stock's upside potential therefore remains significant.

Slight decrease in the number of private shareholders

The overall number of private and institutional shareholders decreased in 2023, coming to a total of 15,237 shareholders, of which 14,831 private shareholders. Despite this change, the free float remains widely distributed, with 83% of shareholders holding between 1 and 50 shares. The percentage of Bank employees that are Bank shareholders remains stable at 76%. Together, these employees own 3.1% of the Bank’s capital.
 

Strategic priorities

For 2024, our strategic priorities are to be a(n):
  • Core partner for the regional economy and SMEs
  • Key player in the financing of private and social housing in Geneva
  • Private banking specialist for the Swiss and international economies
  • Expert in asset management and investment funds
  • Important pillar of influence in Geneva's economy, Swiss trade, and around the world
  • Promoter of banking digitalisation, accessible to all and with a human touch
  • Source of support for corporate and private clients looking to optimise their energy consumption
 

Outlook for 2024

The Bank continues to expand and capture the dynamism of growth sectors. It is able to do so thanks to the diversity of its expertise and the alignment of its business model with the specific demands of the Geneva and Swiss economies.
  • The growth of high added-value business and the loyalty of its client base reaffirm BCGE’s favourable strategic positioning.
  • The Bank’s financial strength makes it a safe and stable financial guardian.
  • The Bank expects a moderate drop in interest rates and a contracting economy, conditions likely to slow growth in revenue.
  • The increase in lending will remain measured due to the regulations governing shareholders’ equity and a policy of caution, particularly in real estate financing.
  • The Bank is continuing to develop businesses that require less capital (e.g. private and institutional wealth management, business advice) and offers a wider range of services for businesses, such as equity financing and M&A.

Barring a significant deterioration in the economy or a sharp drop in interest rates, the Bank expects overall earnings for the year to be comparable to those of this past year.

Résultats annuels 2023

Bénéfice et dividende record

La performance économique de la BCGE a été remarquable en 2023. Le bénéfice net, en hausse de 31.4%, atteint un niveau record à CHF 231.2 mios. En progression de 24.0%, le chiffre d’affaires s’élève quant à lui à CHF 589.9 mios, traduisant le positionnement stratégique opportun de la banque qui capte le dynamisme des secteurs économiques porteurs. Les indicateurs de performance s’affichent à haut niveau. Les actifs gérés et administrés progressent à CHF 35.3 mias, de même que les créances à la clientèle et les prêts hypothécaires à CHF 19.2 mias. Le résultat opérationnel enregistre une hausse marquée à CHF 281.7 mios. Les fonds propres augmentent notablement à CHF 2.184 mias (+10.1%) et le ratio de couverture à 17.0% confirme la BCGE dans le cercle des banques bien capitalisées et sûres. Le dividende proposé à l’Assemblée générale est en hausse de 18% et atteint un nouveau record à CHF 6.50. Pour 2024, la banque s'attend à une rentabilité comparable à l’année écoulée, sauf dégradation conjoncturelle importante ou baisse marquée des taux d’intérêt.
 

Principaux chiffres consolidés de l’année 2023

Le chiffre d’affaires de la banque passe le cap des CHF 500 millions

2023 s’inscrit comme un exercice record pour la BCGE avec un bénéfice net en hausse de 31.4% à CHF 231.2 millions (incluant un résultat extraordinaire de CHF 10.5 millions) et un résultat opérationnel en croissance de 44.5% à CHF 281.7 millions. La progression du chiffre d’affaires qui s’élève à CHF 589.9 millions (+24.0%) reflète la capacité de la banque à capter le dynamisme des secteurs économiques porteurs. Les actifs gérés et administrés augmentent à CHF 35.3 milliards (+5.5%) et les créances à la clientèle et hypothécaires à CHF 19.2 milliards (+3.7%). Le résultat net des opérations d’intérêt s’établit à CHF 390 millions, les commissions à CHF 133 millions et les opérations de négoce à CHF 38 millions. Les charges d’exploitation accompagnent la croissance de l’entreprise et se montent à CHF 285 millions, pour un cost/income ratio qui passe sous la barre des 50% (48.3%). Témoignant du succès du pôle international des activités, la part du chiffre d’affaires en EUR et en USD se monte à 23.5%. 43 nouveaux collaborateurs ont rejoint le Groupe en 2023, portant son effectif à 917 collaborateurs (en équivalent temps plein).
 

BCGE : contributeur majeur du financement de l’économie genevoise et de sa région

En augmentation de CHF 677 millions, les financements octroyés par la banque aux entreprises et aux particuliers s’élèvent à CHF 19.2 milliards. Plus de 22'000 entreprises font confiance à la BCGE pour les soutenir, soit 735 personnes morales de plus en un an. La part mesurée des créances hypothécaires dans le total du bilan de la banque (45%) atteste d’une diversification élevée de ses métiers et marchés.
 

Croissance des actifs gérés et administrés

Les actifs de la clientèle privée augmentent à CHF 19.7 milliards (en progression de CHF 870 millions sur la période). L’apport net des nouveaux mandats discrétionnaires est de CHF 227 millions, les fonds de placement de la gamme Synchrony totalisent, pour leur part, CHF 3.9 milliards. La plateforme de trading online 1816 passe le cap des 12’000 investisseurs. Les actifs de la clientèle institutionnelle progressent également à CHF 15.6 milliards (+6.7%).
 

Hausse continue des fonds propres

Les fonds propres augmentent de manière notable avec un apport de CHF 200 millions, qui porte le total à CHF 2.184 milliards. Le ratio de couverture des fonds propres consolidés est excellent à 17.0%, soit bien au-dessus de la norme requise de 12.7%. La BCGE appartient au cercle des banques bien capitalisées et sûres. Ceci est attesté par son rating Standard & Poor’s de AA-/A-1+/Stable.
 

Performance de l’action BCGE : +25.3%

Le cours de l’action BCGE a poursuivi sa forte progression durant l’année 2023 et termine la période au cours de CHF 225.0. Pour autant, la valeur boursière de l’action est toujours inférieure à la valeur comptable de CHF 303.3 (soit 74%). En comparaison de la valeur des fonds propres de CHF 2.184 milliards, la capitalisation boursière de la banque se chiffre à CHF 1.620 milliard. Le potentiel d’appréciation du titre demeure donc important.

Léger recul du nombre d’actionnaires privés

Le cercle des actionnaires privés et institutionnels totalise 15'237 actionnaires dont 14'831 privés, en contraction sur 2023. En dépit de cette évolution, le capital demeure largement distribué puisque 83% des actionnaires détiennent entre 1 et 50 actions. La part des collaborateurs de la banque qui sont actionnaires de la banque est stable à 76%. Ils détiennent ensemble 3.1% du capital de l’établissement.
 

Priorités stratégiques

Les priorités stratégiques pour 2024 sont les suivantes :
  • Partenaire central de l’économie régionale et des PME
  • Leader du financement du logement privé et social à Genève
  • Spécialiste en private banking pour les acteurs de l’économie en Suisse et à l’international
  • Expert en asset management et en fonds de placement
  • Vecteur du rayonnement de l’économie et du commerce genevois en Suisse et dans le monde
  • Promoteur d’une digitalisation bancaire accessible à tous et à visage humain
  • Accompagnant de la clientèle, entreprises et privée, dans le cadre de l’optimisation énergétique
 

Perspectives 2024

La banque poursuit son expansion commerciale et capte le dynamisme des secteurs économiques porteurs. Elle s’appuie sur la diversité de ses compétences et sur l’adéquation de son modèle d’affaires aux demandes de l’économie genevoise et suisse.
  • La croissance des affaires à forte valeur ajoutée et la fidélité de sa clientèle confirment le positionnement stratégique favorable de la BCGE.
  • La solidité financière de la banque en fait une adresse de dépôt sûre et stable.
  • La banque s’attend à une baisse modérée des taux d’intérêt et à une conjoncture économique contractée ; des conditions susceptibles de freiner la croissance du chiffre d’affaires.
  • L’augmentation des crédits restera mesurée en raison de la réglementation sur les fonds propres et d’une politique de prudence en particulier dans le financement immobilier.
  • La banque poursuit le développement des affaires moins consommatrices de fonds propres (gestion de fortune privée et institutionnelle, conseil aux entreprises) et propose une large gamme de prestations pour les entreprises (financements des fonds propres et M&A).

La banque s'attend à une rentabilité comparable à l’année écoulée, sauf dégradation conjoncturelle importante ou baisse marquée des taux d’intérêt.