Half-year Group results as at 30 June 2021

Record net profit

Geneva, 10 August 2021 – BCGE posted an excellent economic performance in the first half of the year. Net profit reached a record level of CHF 64 million (+16.3%) and all performance indicators were up. Assets under management and administration reached CHF 33.4 billion (+5.1%), mortgage loans CHF 12.4 billion (+3.1%) and equity capital CHF 1.754 billion (+2.2%). The operating profit on equity is at a very high level at 9% and capital coverage is optimal at 15.9%. Barring a deterioration in the economic situation and taking into account the very positive commercial developments, the bank expects an increase in overall earnings for the year, allowing for growth in equity capital and the dividend1.

 

Key consolidated figures for the first half of 2021

Turnover continues its strong growth trend

The bank's business model enables it to adapt well to the recovery of the Swiss and international economies. Assets under management and administration rose to CHF 33.4 billion (+5.1%) and mortgage loans to CHF 12.4 billion (+3.1%). Net profit reached a record level at CHF 64 million (+16.3%).

 

The bank recorded a marked increase in revenues (+12%) thanks to the contribution of all its business lines. Net interest income totalled CHF 104 million and, taking into account the early regulatory provisions for sound loans, reached a total of CHF 126 million1. Commissions rose to CHF 65.8 million (+11%) and trading operations to CHF 17.0 million (+11%). Turnover thus rose to CHF 205.3 million. The share of the Group's turnover in EUR and USD was 28.7%, reflecting the Group's focus on international business. Operating expenses remained under control at CHF 125.4 million and reflect the expansion of the Group, which is digitalising and making the transition to energy-efficient buildings and recruiting in cutting-edge areas. The Group's workforce grew by 27 new positions over the year to reach 824 employees (in full-time equivalents).

 

BCGE: a major contributor to the financing Geneva's economy

The bank grants loans worth CHF 18.2 billion to companies and private individuals. Since 31 December 2020, an additional 255 businesses have joined the ranks of clients, bringing the total to 20,864 businesses (legal entities). Mortgage loans increased by a targeted CHF 12.4 billion (+3.1%). Their share in the balance sheet total is moderate (44.3%), reflecting a disciplined risk diversification policy.

 

Increase in assets management and administration

Assets under management and administration rose to CHF 1.6 billion to reach the significant milestone of CHF 33 billion. Private clients were the main contributors to this remarkable growth, and private banking registered 1,053 new Best of management mandates during the half-year. Synchrony investment funds reached CHF 3.7 billion.  

 

Equity capital continues to increase

Equity capital increased by CHF 38 million (+2.2%), bringing it to CHF 1.754 billion. The consolidated equity capitalisation ratio is close to 16%. The bank belongs to the group of well-capitalised and secure banks, as reflected in its A+/Positive/A-1 rating, which was confirmed in 2021.

 

340 new shareholders

The number of private and institutional shareholders has been growing year on year, reaching 15,408 on 30 June. The floating part of the capital is widely distributed as 83.3% of shareholders hold between 1 and 50 shares.

 

The BCGE share price grew by 8.5%

The BCGE share price ended the half year period at CHF 172.50. The potential for growth remains high, since compared to the level of equity capital, the intrinsic value of the share stands at CHF 246.92.

 

Strategic priorities for 2021

The strategic priorities that guide the BCGE’s development are as follows:

  • Core partner for the regional economy and SMEs.
  • Key player in the financing of private and social housing in Geneva.
  • Recognised experience in advisory services for Swiss and international private banking.
  • Expert in asset management and investment funds.
  • Beacon for the influence of Geneva's economy and trade in Switzerland and around the world.
  • Innovative leader in bank digitisation.
  • Partner to corporate and private clients in the energy transition process.

 

Outlook for 2021

The bank is stepping up the pace of business expansion, backed by the recovery of the Swiss and international economies. Its current impetus is based on the diversity of its skills and on the suitability of its business model to the demands of its clients.

  • The growth of high added-value business and the loyalty of its client base reaffirm BCGE’s favourable strategic positioning.
  • The bank's financial strength makes it a safe and stable custodial address.
  • The bank expects low interest rates and a deteriorated economic climate to continue, factors which are likely to affect its interest margin and commission revenues.
  • The increase in lending remains moderate due to the regulations governing capital requirements and a policy of caution.
  • The bank is promoting the development of its less capital-intensive businesses (private and institutional asset management, corporate advisory services, private equity).

 

Barring a deterioration in the economic situation and taking into account the very positive commercial developments, the bank expects an increase in overall earnings for the year, allowing for growth in equity capital and the dividend.


1 Based on the excellent results of the first half of the year, the bank has decided to anticipate the regulatory provisions of sound loans / Expected Credit Losses allocation of CHF 25.6 million in full. See the notes to the financial statements for more details.

Résultats semestriels du Groupe au 30 juin 2021

Bénéfice net record

Genève, le 10 août 2021 – La BCGE affiche une performance économique excellente au premier semestre. Le bénéfice net atteint un niveau record à CHF 64 mios (+16.3%) et l’ensemble des indicateurs de performance sont en hausse. Les actifs gérés et administrés atteignent CHF 33.4 mias (+5.1%), les créances hypothécaires CHF 12.4 mias (+3.1%) et les fonds propres atteignent CHF 1.754 mias (+2.2%). Le résultat opérationnel sur les fonds propres se situe à un très bon niveau à 9% et la couverture de capital est optimale à 15.9%. Sauf dégradation de la conjoncture et compte tenu des très bons développements commerciaux, la banque s’attend à un résultat global en progression sur l’année, permettant la croissance des fonds propres et du dividende1.

 

Principaux chiffres consolidés du 1er semestre 2021

Le chiffre d’affaires s’inscrit dans une tendance de forte croissance

Le modèle d’affaires de la banque lui offre une bonne réactivité dans un contexte de reprise des économies suisse et internationale. Les actifs gérés et administrés progressent à CHF 33.4 mias (+5.1%) et les créances hypothécaires à CHF 12.4 mias (+3.1%). Le bénéfice net atteint quant à lui un niveau record à CHF 64 mios (+16.3%).

 

La banque a enregistré une croissance marquée de ses revenus (+12%) obtenue grâce à la contribution de tous les métiers. Le résultat net des opérations d’intérêt se monte à CHF 104 mios et s’élève, en tenant compte de l’anticipation du provisionnement réglementaire pour créances saines, à un total CHF 126 mios1. Les commissions progressent à CHF 65.8 mios (+11%) et les opérations de négoce à CHF 17.0 mios (+11%). Le chiffre d’affaires est ainsi en hausse à CHF 205.3 mios. La part du chiffre d’affaires en EUR et USD se monte à 28.7%, preuve de l’internationalisation bénéfique des activités. Les charges d’exploitation restent bien maîtrisées à CHF 125.4 mios et anticipent l’expansion du Groupe qui conduit la digitalisation, la transition énergétique de ses bâtiments et recrute dans des domaines de pointe. L’effectif du Groupe a progressé de 27 nouveaux postes sur une année pour atteindre les 824 collaborateurs (en équivalents temps plein).

 

BCGE : contributeur majeur du financement de l’économie genevoise

La banque octroie des financements pour un total de CHF 18.2 mias aux entreprises et aux particuliers. Depuis le 31 décembre 2020, 255 entreprises supplémentaires ont rejoint les rangs des clients, soit 20'864 entreprises (personnes morales). Les créances hypothécaires progressent de façon ciblée à CHF 12.4 milliards (+3.1%). Leur part au total du bilan est modérée (44.3%), reflet d’une politique de diversification des risques disciplinée.

 

Progression des actifs gérés et administrés

Les actifs gérés et administrés croissent de CHF 1.6 mia pour franchir le cap significatif des CHF 33 mias. La clientèle privée est le premier contributeur à cette croissance remarquable et le private banking enregistre la signature de 1'053 nouveaux mandats de gestion Best of sur le semestre. Les fonds de placement de la marque Synchrony atteignent quant à eux les CHF 3.7 mias.  

 

Hausse continue des fonds propres

Les fonds propres augmentent de CHF 38 mios (+2.2%), ce qui les porte à CHF 1.754 mia. Le ratio de couverture des fonds propres consolidés avoisine les 16%. La banque appartient au cercle des banques bien capitalisées et sûres comme en atteste son rating de A+/Positive/A-1, confirmé en 2021.

 

340 nouveaux actionnaires

Le cercle des actionnaires privés et institutionnels s’élargit d’année en année pour atteindre les 15'408 actionnaires au 30 juin. La part flottante du capital est largement distribuée puisque 83.3% des actionnaires détiennent entre 1 et 50 actions.

 

Croissance de 8.5% de l’action BCGE

Le cours de l’action BCGE termine le semestre à CHF 172.50. Le potentiel de progression demeure important puisqu’en comparaison du niveau des fonds propres, la valeur intrinsèque du titre se situe à CHF 246.92.

 

Priorités stratégiques 2021

Les priorités stratégiques qui guident le développement de la BCGE sont les suivantes :
  • Partenaire central de l’économie régionale et des PME.
  • Leader du financement du logement privé et social à Genève.
  • Conseiller reconnu et performant en private banking suisse et international.
  • Expert en asset management et en fonds de placement.
  • Vecteur du rayonnement de l’économie et du commerce genevois en Suisse et dans le monde.
  • Acteur innovant en digitalisation bancaire.
  • Accompagnant de la clientèle, entreprise et privée, dans le cadre de la transition énergétique.

 

Perspectives 2021

La banque accentue son expansion commerciale, s’appuyant sur la reprise de l’économie suisse et internationale. Elle fonde son élan actuel sur la diversité de ses compétences et sur l’adéquation de son modèle d’affaires aux demandes de ses clients.

  • La croissance des affaires à forte valeur ajoutée et la fidélité de sa clientèle confirment son positionnement stratégique adéquat.
  • La solidité financière de la banque en fait une adresse de dépôt sûre et stable.
  • La banque s’attend à la persistance des taux bas et à une conjoncture incertaine ; des éléments susceptibles d’influencer sa marge d’intérêts et ses revenus de commissions.
  • L’augmentation des crédits reste modérée en raison de la réglementation sur les fonds propres et d’une politique de prudence.
  • La banque favorise le développement des affaires moins consommatrices de fonds propres (gestion de fortune privée et institutionnelle conseil aux entreprises, private equity).

 

Sauf dégradation de la conjoncture et compte tenu des très bons développements commerciaux, la banque s'attend à un résultat global en progression sur l'année, permettant la croissance des fonds propres et du dividende.


1Au vu des excellents résultats du semestre, la banque a décidé d’anticiper la constitution réglementaire des provisions sur créances saines / dotation Expected Credit Losses de CHF 25.6 mios dans leur intégralité. Se reporter à l’Annexe aux comptes pour plus de détails.