Exclusive round table with the President of the Confederation

BCGE had the honour of welcoming the President of the Confederation, Guy Parmelin, and a number of well-known key players. The meeting provided a wealth of information on Switzerland's competitiveness in the world.

On Friday 30 April 2021, the President of the Confederation, Guy Parmelin, visited the Banque Cantonale de Genève. This was a private and informal meeting, to which the bank had invited a number of key players in Geneva's economy from the industrial, real estate, watchmaking, trading, medical, travel and transport sectors.

The guests were welcomed by Manuel Leuthold, the new Chairman of the BCGE Board of Directors, appointed at the General Meeting on Thursday 29 April 2021, and Blaise Goetschin, CEO. An exclusive round table was organised for the occasion, which focused on the prospects for a resolutely forward-looking economic recovery.

There was a transparent and constructive exchange of views on current topics such as the global minimum tax rate for companies proposed by the United States, the framework conditions in Switzerland, the public sector, Switzerland's place among the great powers, the competitiveness of Swiss companies and of Switzerland, bitcoin, cybercrime, digitalisation, innovation, training for apprentices, etc.

The event also provided an opportunity to discuss the relationship between the business community and the Federal Council and ended on a friendly and positive note, allowing each participant to take home lasting and wide-ranging ideas.

An exclusive interview with the President of the Confederation, Guy Parmelin, will appear in the next summer 2021 issue of Dialogue, the BCGE magazine.

Pictures : David Wagnières.

Table ronde exclusive avec le Président de la Confédération

La BCGE a eu l'honneur d'accueillir le Président de la Confédération, Guy Parmelin, et quelques acteurs-clés de renom. Une rencontre riche en enseignements sur la compétitivité de la Suisse dans le monde.

Vendredi 30 avril 2021, le Président de la Confédération, Guy Parmelin, rendait visite à la Banque Cantonale de Genève. Une rencontre privée et informelle, à laquelle les conseillers de la banque avaient convié quelques acteurs-clés de la place économique de Genève, actifs dans les secteurs de l’industrie, de l’immobilier, de l’horlogerie, du trading, du médical, des voyages ou encore des transports.

Les invités ont été reçus par Manuel Leuthold, nouveau Président du Conseil d'administration de la BCGE,  nommé lors de l'Assemblée générale du jeudi 29 avril 2021,  et Blaise Goetschin, CEO. Une table ronde exclusive a été organisée à cette occasion, qui a porté sur les perspectives d’une reprise économique résolument tournée vers le futur.

Des échanges transparents et constructifs se sont déroulés autour de sujets d’actualité tels que le taux d’imposition minimum mondial pour les entreprises proposé par les Etats-Unis, les conditions-cadre en Suisse, le secteur public, la place de la Suisse parmi les grandes puissances, la compétitivité des entreprises suisses et de la Suisse, le bitcoin, la cybercriminalité, la digitalisation, l’innovation, la formation des apprentis…

La séance a également été l’occasion de parler des liens entre les entreprises et le Conseil fédéral et s’est terminée sur une note conviviale et positive, permettant à chaque participant de repartir avec des idées de réflexion à long terme et sur une large échelle.

Une interview exclusive du Président de la Confédération, Guy Parmelin, paraîtra dans le prochain numéro de Dialogue été 2021, le magazine de la BCGE.


Crédit photos : David Wagnières.