About Us

About Us

In short

 

Founded in 1816, Banque Cantonale de Genève (BCGE) plays a vital role in supporting and boosting the regional economy. BCGE is a universal and commercial bank whose primary mission is to contribute to the economic development of Geneva and its region. To do so, it offers a full range of banking services to individuals, businesses - from SMEs to multinationals - and institutions.

Thanks to its solid roots in a canton with a strong international influence, BCGE offers its clients a wide range of services locally: day-to-day banking services, Private Banking, Asset Management, Pension Planning, Financing (mortgages; loans to companies and public authorities; Import/Export), Trading Room, Financial Engineering, Corporate Finance (evaluation and transfer of companies; private equity) and Global Commodity Finance.

BCGE is a well-capitalised, sound bank, combining its diverse business lines with innovation and transparency, making it a reliable partner for its clients. The BCGE Group has almost 800 employees and a network of 21 branches in Geneva, offering numerous online services and a range of specialised services in Lausanne, Zurich, Basel, Lyon, Annecy and Paris, as well as representative offices in Dubai and Hong Kong. The BCGE is listed on the SIX Swiss Exchange, the Swiss stock exchange (Authorised share no. 35 049 471).
 

 

The Business Model
 

A diversified business model that reflects the Geneva economy

BCGE's corporate strategy is focused on long-term and sustainable success. It is active on behalf of individuals and companies - from SMEs to multinationals - and institutions. BCGE's business model is based on a core of traditional activities, which still play an important role today, and it has undergone regular changes, leading to a widening of the bank’s expertise and abilities. The changes have been implemented to offer a complete and competitive range of services. These strategic choices have enabled a steady growth in financial results.

 

A financial policy aimed at sustainability

In order to be able to offer competitive solutions to an extremely diverse clientele, the bank develops specific business lines, organised into strategic activity portfolios. BCGE’s business model is that of a universal bank. The main financial objective is the steady increase in the bank's value based mainly on organic and qualitative business growth (the incremental growth business model). Strategic decisions and operational management prioritise long-term growth in the bank’s equity value (reflected by market capitalisation), even if this is at the expense of short-term profitability. The aim is to avoid underinvestment or an excessively high-risk profile, and to not undermine the bank’s ethical conduct in any way.

 

A solution adapted to each market segment

The bank calibrates its business lines, commercial policy and resources on the basis of a detailed study of markets and an evaluation of how accessible these are and what potential they have. Five of the bank’s fourteen business lines focus on individuals, which account for one-third of the bank’s total income: day-to-day banking services, wealth management, savings and pension planning, private banking and private financing. Of the eight business lines devoted to companies and institutions, four are credit-related. These are corporate finance, commercial real estate, public finance and trade finance. The remaining business lines are strategic financial advice, financial markets, services to institutional investors, banks and insurance companies. The fourteenth business line creates and manages investment funds.

 

Two-thirds of the Group’s turnover is generated with companies and public and private institutions

The bank manages this portfolio of business areas with the aim of optimising the profitability/risk ratio of each, while fostering operational synergies among them. The bank maximises use of its available equity, while ensuring its continued existence with a safety margin defined in the regulatory and financial framework. Having achieved a high level of capital use, the current priority for additional growth is focused on areas of business that are less capital intensive.

Qui sommes-nous ?

Qui sommes-nous ?

En bref

 

Fondée en 1816, la Banque Cantonale de Genève (BCGE) exerce une fonction vitale de soutien et de dynamisation de l’économie régionale. La BCGE est une banque universelle et commerciale dont la mission première est de contribuer au développement de Genève et de sa région. Pour ce faire, elle fournit une gamme complète de services bancaires à une clientèle de particuliers, d’entreprises – des PME aux multinationales – et d’institutionnels.

Grace à son ancrage solide dans un canton à fort rayonnement international, la BCGE propose à ses clients une offre diversifiée et de proximité: services bancaires quotidiens, Private Banking, Asset Management, Prévoyance, Financements (hypothécaires ; crédits aux entreprises et collectivités publiques ; Import/Export), Salle des Marchés, Ingénierie financière, Corporate Finance (évaluation et transmission d’entreprises ; Private Equity) et Global Commodity Finance.

Banque bien capitalisée et sûre, la BCGE, allie diversification de ses métiers, dynamique d’innovation et transparence afin d’être le partenaire de confiance de ses clients. Avec ses près de 800 collaborateurs, le groupe BCGE anime un réseau de 21 agences à Genève, propose de nombreux services en ligne, offre une palette de services spécialisés à Lausanne, Zurich, Bâle, Lyon, Annecy, Paris et dispose d’une présence à Dubaï et Hong Kong. La BCGE est cotée à la bourse suisse, SIX Swiss Exchange (N° de valeur 35 049 471).
 

 

Le modèle d'affaires
 

Un modèle d’affaires diversifié, à l’image de l’économie genevoise

La stratégie d’entreprise de la BCGE vise un succès durable et inscrit dans le long terme. Elle intervient sur le marché auprès des particuliers, des entreprises – des PME aux multinationales – et des institutions. Fondé sur un noyau d’activités traditionnelles, toujours importantes aujourd’hui, le modèle d’affaires de la BCGE a fait l’objet de mutations régulières, entrainant l’élargissement des compétences et des capacités d’intervention de la banque. Ces développements ont été accomplis dans l’optique d’offrir une gamme de services complète et compétitive. Ces choix stratégiques ont permis une croissance constante des résultats financiers.

 

Une politique financière visant la pérennité

Pour répondre d’une manière compétitive aux exigences d’une clientèle très diverse, la banque développe des métiers spécifiques organisés en portefeuilles d’activités stratégiques. Le modèle d’affaires de la BCGE s’inscrit dans celui d’une banque universelle. L’objectif financier majeur est l’accroissement régulier de la valeur de la banque basé pour l’essentiel sur une croissance organique et qualitative des affaires (incremental growth business model). Les décisions stratégiques et la conduite opérationnelle visent en priorité l’accroissement à long terme de la valeur actionnariale de la banque (reflétée par la capitalisation boursière) – si nécessaire au détriment de la profitabilité à court terme – et visent à ne pas sous-investir ou a trop élever le profil de risque, ou encore à n’affaiblir en aucune façon la conduite déontologique de la banque.

 

Une réponse adaptée à chaque segment de marché

La banque calibre ses métiers, sa politique commerciale et ses ressources sur la base d’une étude approfondie des marches et d’une évaluation de leur accessibilité et potentialité. Cinq des quatorze métiers de la banque sont centrés sur les particuliers et représentent un tiers des revenus totaux de la banque: les services bancaires quotidiens, le conseil patrimonial de base, l’épargne et la prévoyance, le private banking et le financement prive. Parmi les huit métiers dévolus aux entreprises et institutionnels, quatre ressortent du crédit. Il s’agit du financement de l’entreprise, de l’immobilier professionnel, des collectivités publiques et du trade finance. Les autres métiers sont le conseil financier stratégique, les marchés financiers, le service aux investisseurs institutionnels et celui aux banques et assurances. Le quatorzième métier crée et exploite des fonds de placement.

 

Deux tiers du chiffre d’affaires du groupe sont réalisés avec des entreprises et institutions publiques privées.

La banque gère le portefeuille de domaines d’activités en visant à optimiser le ratio rentabilité/risque de chacun et en cultivant les synergies opérationnelles entre eux. La banque maximise l’usage de ses fonds propres disponibles, tout en protégeant sa pérennité par une marge de sécurité définie dans le cadre règlementaire et financier. Ayant atteint un niveau élevé d’emploi du capital, la priorité actuelle de la croissance additionnelle est portée sur les domaines d’activités moins consommateurs de fonds propres.